Photo: Unsplash

Banner 2024 Prix Lumières Awardees

The Foundation is shining the spotlight on three remarkable alumnae, the winners of the 2024 Prix Lumières Awards, who were nominated by members of the Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS) community.

The awards, which were presented on 11 May at the INRS convocation ceremony, are intended to highlight alumni whose careers and achievements inspire our entire community. Our Lumières are remarkable individuals who, through their careers and achievements, demonstrate the importance of science in society and promote the quality and relevance of research and training at INRS.


Prix Étincelle • Firestarter Award

Claudie Noël

Claudie Noël

Masters in experimental health sciences, 2016

Senior Director—Operations,
Montréal InVivo

The Prix Étincelle • Firestarter award recognises a promising start to a career and a graduate who is an inspiration to our student community.

This year, our jury selected Claudie Noël, a 2016 alumnae of the master’s degree in experimental health sciences under the direction of Denis Girard. After starting her career at Parkinson Québec, she has been senior director of operations at Montréal InVivo since 2019, an industry cluster that aims to rally and support members of the life sciences and health technologies ecosystem.

Ms Noël is responsible for skills development and relations with the next generation of health sciences professionals. She is also involved in sport, as Chair of the Board of Rugby Québec, coach and volunteer. In both her professional and personal commitments, she combines creativity with scientific rigour. Congratulations!


Prix Éclat • Trailblazer Award

Caroline Chapain

Caroline Chapain

Doctorate in urban studies, 2005

Associate professor, Business School,
University of Birmingham

The Prix Éclat • Trailblazer Award recognises the exceptional career of a graduate, as well as his or her commitment to the community, in Quebec and elsewhere.

We are proud to present this award to Caroline Chapain, a 2005 graduate of the doctoral programme in urban studies.

She has 20 years’ experience in research and influential positions in public finance, urban transport in the Americas and economic and cultural development in Europe. Her career has given her solid expertise in cultural and creative ecosystems, and her multidisciplinary projects have brought together academics and practitioners to produce concrete results.

She is now Associate Professor at the School of Business at the University of Birmingham, where she coordinates inclusive education practices and co-founded an institutional decolonisation project. She is now undertaking a project to integrate sustainable and responsible management into study programmes.

In short, the Éclat award recognises her skills and passion for making the world a better place through research.


Prix Rayonnement • Starburst Award

Isabelle Caron

Isabelle Caron

Masters in applied biology, 2001

President and chief executive officer,
Biologics Manufacturing Centre (MFC) inc.  

Our Prix Rayonnement • Starburst Award celebrates an outstanding commitment to the development of INRS and a graduate’s contribution to the economic, social or cultural development of Quebec.

Our winner, Isabelle Caron, obtained her master’s degree in applied microbiology in 2001 under the supervision of Professor Lolita Zamir.

Ms Caron is President and CEO of the Biologics Manufacturing Centre (BMC), which is responsible for deploying a national biomanufacturing capability that ensures a rapid response to future health emergencies and fosters the growth and resilience of the life sciences industry in Quebec and Canada.

For nearly 25 years, she has acquired solid expertise in operations management in a manufacturing context, notably at Bioxalis Medica Inc, Laboratoires Confab, and then IDC Dermo. More recently, she headed up manufacturing operations at Medicago’s four production sites.

In short, Isabelle Caron’s exceptional career is a testament to her commitment to stimulating growth, fostering innovation and making significant contributions to Quebec’s economic, social and cultural development.


Congratulations to all three of you! Your achievements and commitment are the pride of the entire INRS community.

Congratulations also to all the graduates nominated and thank you to those who submitted their nominations. Your contribution to the reputation of INRS and its world is invaluable.

We would like to thank the members of our jury, made up of members of the Board of Directors and the INRS Foundation team: Mylany David, Luc-Alain Giraldeau, Marie-Pierre Habas-Gerard, Catherine Thibault, Martine Vanasse, and Elise Comtois.

Until next year!


À propos des prix Lumières

Back to news list