2022 Prix Lumières Awards

Mathieu Millette
Master’s in applied biology, 2003
Doctorate in biology, 2008
Scientific director

Daria Riabinina
Doctorate in energy and materials sciences, 2007
Director, Technology transfer 
Quebec Ministry of Economy and Innovation

Élyse Caron-Beaudoin
Doctorate in biology, 2018 
Assistant professor
Department of health and society
University of Toronto Scarborough


2021 Prix Lumières Awards

Eric Irissou
M.Sc. Energy and materials sciences, 2000
Ph.D. Energy and materials sciences, 2005 

Éric Simard
Ph.D. Biology, 2008

Sophie Dufour-Beauséjour
Ph.D. Water sciences, 2021


2020 Prix Lumières Awards

Marco Blouin
MSc Energy Sciences, 1995, and PhD Energy and Materials Sciences, 1998

Marie-Pierre Ippersiel
PhD Urban Studies, 2004

Claudie Beaulieu
PhD Water Sciences, 2009

Christian Reimer
PhD Energy Sciences and Materials, 2018 

Meet our Lumières

2022 Best master’s theses or essays and doctoral dissertations

France Caza
Doctorate in biology, 2021
Centre Armand-Frappier Santé Biotechnologie • supervisor : Richard Villemur

Pier Paolo Comida
Doctorate in Earth sciences, 2022
Centre Eau Terre Environnement • supervisor : Pierre-Simon Ross

Ivy Mawusi Asuo
Doctorate in energy and materials sciences, 2022
Centre Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications • supervisor : Alain Pignolet

Caroline Marcoux-Gendron
Doctorate in urbain studies, 2021
Centre Urbanisation Culture Société • supervisor : Guy Bellavance

Sarah Bouali
Master’s in virology and immunology, 2021
Centre Armand-Frappier Santé Biotechnologie • supervisor : Krista Heinonen 

Emily Fitzhenry
Master’s in Earth sciences, 2021
Centre Eau Terre Environnement • supervisor : Richard Martel; co-supervisor : Thomas Robert

Yingming Lai
Master’s in energy and materials sciences, 2021
Centre Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications • supervisor : Jinyang Liang

Carlos Andrés Henao Florez
Master’s in urban studies, 2022
Centre Urbanisation Culture Société • supervisor : Phillippe Apparicio


2021 Best master’s theses or essays and PhD dissertations

Pratik Kumar (Ph.D. Water sciences, 2020) | Centre Eau Terre Environnement | Supervisor: Satinder Kaur Brar

Golara Golbaghi (Ph.D. Biology, 2020) | Centre Armand-Frappier Santé Biotechnologie | Supervisor: Annie Castonguay

Stefania Sciara (Ph.D. Energy and material sciences, 2020) | Centre Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications | Supervisor: Roberto Morandotti

Leslie Kapo (Ph.D. Urban studies, 2021) | Centre Urbanisation Culture Société | Supervisor: Julie-Anne Boudreau

Belmir Jose de Jesus Junior (M.Sc. Telecommunications, 2020) | Centre Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications | Supervisor: Tiago H. Falk

Dazhong Zheng (M.Sc. Experimental health sciences, 2020) | Centre Armand-Frappier Santé Biotechnologie | Supervisors: Mahchid Bamdad (Université Clermont-Auvergne) and Charles Calmettes

Johanna Campuzano (M.Sc. Research practices and public action, 2020) | Centre Urbanisation Culture Société | Supervisor: Nicole Gallant

Marc-Alexandre Fillion (M.Sc. Earth Sciences, 2020) | Centre Eau Terre Environnement | Supervisor: Richard Martel


2020 Best master’s theses and PhD dissertations

Edward Owusu Kwarteng (PhD Virology and Immunology, 2019) 
Centre Armand-Frappier Santé Biotechnologie, supervisor: Krista Heinonen

Amin Ebrahimzadeh (PhD, Telecommunications, 2020)
Centre Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications, supervisor: Martin Maier

Claudie Ratté-Fortin (PhD, Water Science, 2020) 
Centre Eau Terre Environnement, supervisors: Karem Chokmani, Isabelle Laurion

Sara Painter (PhD, Urban Studies, 2019)
Centre Urbanisation Culture Société, supervisors: Raymonde Séchet, Anne-Marie Séguin

Alexandra Gobeil (M.Sc. Applied Microbiolgy, 2020) 
Centre Armand-Frappier Santé Biotechnologie, supervisor: Monique Lacroix

Benjamin Crockett (M.Sc. Energy and Materials Science, 2020) 
Centre Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications, supervisor: José Azaña

Dominic Thériault (M.Sc. Water Science, 2020)
Centre Eau Terre Environnement, supervisor: Karem Chokmani

Marie-Hélène Roch (M.Sc. Urban Studies, 2019)
Centre Urbanisation Culture Société, supervisors: Marie-Soleil Cloutier, Christian Poirier 

Meet our awardees