Congratulations to our 2021 Prix Lumières Awardees!

We are proud to celebrate our 2021 Prix Lumières awardees, which were announced at the 2020‒2021 graduation ceremony on May 15.

The Prix Lumières Awards are presented to graduates whose remarkable careers and achievements are inspiring the entire INRS community.

Through their inspiring work, career, and achievements, our Lumières embody the mission and values of INRS, demonstrate the importance of science in society, and promote the excellence of research and training at INRS.


For his exceptional commitment to the development of INRS and its contribution to the economic, social, and cultural development of Quebec.

“INRS, which is devoted exclusively to research and graduate training and promoting multidisciplinary approaches, provided me with a unique framework for developing a variety of knowledge and skills that have proven to be essential for my career progression at NRC. I therefore receive this award with humility and thank my research director as well as the professors, student colleagues and technicians who have played a significant role during my studies at the Centre Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications, the source of my professional success.”

Eric Irissou
M.Sc. Energy and materials sciences, 2000
Ph.D. Energy and materials sciences, 2005

Team leader, Thermal spray
Senior research officer
National Research Council Canada     

learn more  


For his remarkable achievements and contribution to the community, in Quebec and beyond.

“INRS has been for me a place where knowledge and curiosity can grow, guided by passionate researchers. I receive this award as a recognition of all my efforts of the last years, during which I have always considered science as a privileged place where it is possible for me to find myself, to nourish my need for knowledge and to increase my curiosity and my creativity.”

Éric Simard
Ph.D. Biology, 2008

Idunn Technologies


For a promising career debut that has already inspired the student community.

“It is at INRS that I was able to reconcile my values of community involvement with my research work. I receive this award as a consideration of my eclectic journey.”


Sophie Dufour-Beauséjour
Ph.D. Water sciences, 2021

Policy analyst
Climate change preparedness
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

learn more

Congratulations to all nominated graduates and a big thank you to all the nominators who helped them shine. Thanks to you, this second edition was a resounding success!

We would also like extend our sincere thanks to the members of this year’s jury, Marco Blouin, Executive Director, Science et PartenariatsMinistère de l’Économie et de l’Innovation of Quebec; Guillaume Côté, Principal Strategy Manager, Collins Aerospace; Luc-Alain Giraldeau, CEO of INRS; Marie-Pierre Ippersiel, president and Chief Executive Officer, PRIMA Québec; Étienne Lyrette, Chief of staff to the Chair and CEO, Société de transport de Montréal; Anne-Pascale Richardson, Program Manager, AquaHacking; Catherine Thibault, Director, Public Affairs and Global Communications, CAE; and Martine Vanasse, Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer, PSP Investments.