Our 2023 Prix Lumières Awardees

Banner 2023 Prix Lumières Awardees

Congratulations to our Lumières 2023!

It is with great pride that we congratulate the winners of the 2023 Lumières Awards, which were unveiled on May 13 at the Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS) 2022-2023 Graduation ceremony.

The Prix Lumières Awards are presented to our graduates whose outstanding achievements and accomplishments inspire the entire INRS community.

Through their inspiring actions, achievements and career paths, which embody the mission and values of INRS, they illustrate the importance of science in society and promote the quality and relevance of research and training at INRS.


For his exceptional commitment to the development of INRS and its contribution to the economic, social, and cultural development of Quebec.

“For me, INRS is of course the rigour and excellence of science, but above all it is the impetus that forces us to surpass ourselves, that pushes us forward to take us even further.”

Sabin Boily

Sabin Boily
M.Sc. Energy sciences, 1990
Ph.D. Energy sciences, 1994

Groupe YDEE             

Learn more  


For his remarkable achievements and contribution to the community, in Quebec and beyond.

“In fact, my time at INRS has shaped the professor-researcher that I have become. That is why I operate a research centre with a rather flat organisational structure. I recreated this sense of collegiality at MIT. Second, the very nature of the organization - a national graduate institution with close ties to industry - it seemed natural to me to link research with the user community.”

Dennis G. Whyte

Dennis G. Whyte
M.Sc. Energy sciences, 1989
Ph.D. Energy sciences, 1993

Director, Center for Plasma Science and Nuclear Fusion, and Hitachi America Professor of Engineering, Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering,
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)


For a promising career debut that has already inspired the student community.

“I have learned many lessons from my time at INRS, but I find that the most important lesson is to be an open-minded researcher, who values teamwork as a key resource for exploring new research horizons and not getting discouraged by failure.”

Stefania Sciara

Stefania Sciara
Ph.D. Energy and materials sciences, 2020 

Postodoctoral researcher,
Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS)

Learn more




Congratulations to our nominated graduates and a big thank you to the people who made them shine by submitting their applications. Thanks to you, this fourth edition of the competition was a great success!

Our warmest thanks also go to the members of the jury, composed of members of the Foundation's Board of Directors and INRS representatives: Martine Vanasse, Chief Compliance Officer, PSP Investments; Mylany David, Partner, Langlois Avocats; Luc-Alain Giraldeau, CEO, Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS); Annie Fernández, President, Fernández Public Relations; Marie-Pierre Habas-Gerard, Practice Leader, Artificial Intelligence, CGI; Élise Comtois, Executive Director of the Foundation; and Isabelle Delisle, Assistant Director, Scientific Direction,Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS).